Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Book Review: Perception (Eve Series book 3) by A.L. Waddington

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1126 KB
  • Print Length: 264 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Booktrope (Oct. 20 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00OPT3PV8

My hopes, my dreams, and most of all me…we will finally be, set free. 

Questions, questions, and more questions . . . they consume Jocelyn Timmons’ life—both of them. Questions that never seem to have an answer. They haunt her, eat at her, and dreams of a normal senior year of high school have finally floated away into nothingness. 

Inheriting the gift of EVE (Essence Voyager Era) has become both a gift and a curse. One that Jocelyn doesn’t know if she wants or can accept. The world she once knew and thrived in has all but disappeared in the last two months. And now she wonders if she can ever find her way home again. 

Her fiancé, Jackson Chandler, and his family seem to be the only ones who understand what she’s going through besides her uncles, both of which she’s grown very close to. But even they do not fully grasp how turbulent the situation at home has become. Will Jocelyn survive the torments from her mother and brother? Or will she find a hidden key to finally unlock her golden cage? 

Find out in Perception, the griping third installment in the EVE series.

About the Author: A. L. Waddington

I grew up in a small town in Indiana and always had a vivid and overactive imagination. I have a strong passion for music and can be found “dancing” around my house when no one’s home. I am notorious for blowing the speakers out on my car. I’ve been known to surprise my children with Jell-O balloon fights and to pull “devious” pranks on my close friends. I have a slight addiction to coffee and gummy bears and am firm believer in the theory of organized chaos. 
I also write two drastically different series. My EVE series is YA fiction with a cross over into time travel, paranormal mysticism, and romance. The first book, Essence re-released last January and the second book, Enlightened released in April. The third book, Perception is due to release in October. My With Honors series is a sultry psychological erotica series. The first book, What I Really Learned in College, released in July and the second, Making the Dean’s List, in currently slated for release in December. 
I love playing sports; mainly basketball, volleyball, and softball. Also, I am extremely proud to be the team captain for the Happy Hooters in the Striking Out Cancer, annual Ladies Softball Tournament hosted by the Sweet Melissa Foundation.
When I’m not hiding behind my laptop or buried in a book, I can be found working in my gardens, cheering on my favorite team, the Indianapolis Colts, or trying to lose that last stubborn ten pounds. I graduated with my BS in psychology from Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis with a dual concentration in the Psychobiology of Addictions and Clinical Rehabilitation. My son is an NCO in the Army and currently deployed in Kuwait. I have one daughter in college and one in her last year of high school. I also have a very spoiled miniature Eskimo Spitz named DaVinci and an over-sized cat aptly named Chubbies.

My Review: 

I was fortunate enough to get to read the first two installments in this series first. When I first came upon this series the idea of living on two planes of existence was thought provoking and I had many questions in my mind. Amazingly, Jocelyn seems to have all the same questions in her head and I found that funny.  As always the play by play love story of Jocelyn and Chandler is a feel good.  I found the depth of this book enthralling and the introduction of new characters such as Uncle Nick to be fascinating.  

However, I do have to say as a parent I can't fathom my beliefs being strong enough to estrange me from my daughters life.  I feel that positive support and guidance will lead to us both being happier.  Another thing I noticed is that in this series time doesn't go by fast in either time period, actually it goes fairly slow in comparison to other books.  In result of time going slower the author is able to bring a rare depth of the scene to life with such vivid colours and sounds as well as the characters.  I am intrigued as to where this series is leading next.  I give this book a 5 of 5.

Views expressed are those of Two Children and a Migraine and not influenced in anyway.  A book was supplied for review purposes only and no compensation was received for this post. 

1 comment: